*New Music Monday* My Mash-Up of Talking Heads’ “Psycho Killer” & The Doors’ “5 To 1”

242. The Doors243. Talking Heads

It’s New Music Monday! This week it’s a mash-up of Talking Heads’ “Psycho Killer” & The Doors’ “5 To 1”:

Five to One/ Psycho Killer

Five to one, baby
One in five
No one here gets out alive, now
You get yours, baby
I’ll get mine
Gonna make it baby if we try

The old get old
And the young get stronger
May take a week and it may take longer
They got the guns but we got the numbers
Gonna win, yeah, we’re takin’ over

Psycho Killer
Qu’est-ce que c’est
Fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-far better
Run run run run run run run away
Psycho Killer
Qu’est-ce que c’est
Fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-far better
Run, run, run, run, run, run, run, away

You walk across the floor
With a flower in your hand
Tryin’ to tell me no one understands
Trade in your hours for a handful of dimes

Get together one more time

I can’t seem to face up to the facts
I’m tense and nervous and I
Can’t relax
I can’t sleep ’cause my bed’s on fire
Don’t touch me I’m a real live wire

“Psycho Killer” written by David Byrne, Chris Frantz and Tina Weymouth

“5 To 1” written by The Doors

Click on images for credits

4 comments on “*New Music Monday* My Mash-Up of Talking Heads’ “Psycho Killer” & The Doors’ “5 To 1”

  1. Janet says:

    This works so well. Seamless. And reminds me of how much I like ‘Psycho Killer’. Thanks for that. (Also for future performances, the One in Five bridge (walk across the floor w that flower in your hand) works very well in an Elmer Fudd voice, if you ever want to take it in that direction.)

  2. Derek Flynn says:

    Ha! Thanks, Janet, I now have Elmer Fudd singing 5 To 1 in my head for the day! 🙂

  3. Was just thinking that Five to one and Psycho Killer sound so similar. Googled, and your brilliant mashup showed up. Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

