*New Music* My Mash-Up of Neil Young’s “Southern Man” and Dolly Parton’s “Jolene”

Neil & Dolly
This week’s new music is the unlikely duo of Neil Young and Dolly Parton. This is my mash-up of “Southern Man” and “Jolene”:

Southern Man/Jolene

Southern man, better keep your head,
Don’t forget what your Good Book says
Southern change gonna come at last,
Now your crosses are burnin’ fast, southern man

I saw cotton and I saw black,
Tall white mansions and little shacks;
Southern man when will you pay them back?
I heard screamin’ and bull whips crackin’
How long, how long? Ah!

Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene
I`m begging of you please dont`t take my man
Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene
Please don`t take him just because you can

Your beauty is beyond compare
With flaming locks of auburn hair
With ivory skin and eyes of emerald green
Your smile is like a breath of spring
Your voice is soft like summer rain
And I cannot compete with you, Jolene

He talks about you in his sleep
There`s nothing I can do to keep
From crying when he calls your name, Jolene
And I can easily understand
How you could easily take my man
But you don`t know what he means to me, Jolene

Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene
I`m begging of you please don`t take my man
Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene
Please don`t take him just because you can

Lillie Bell, your hair is golden brown,
I’ve seen your black man comin’ round,
Swear by God, I’m gonna cut him down!
I heard screamin’ and bull whips crackin’
How long, how long? Ah!

“Southern Man” written by Neil Young

“Jolene” written by Dolly Parton

Blog Ad2

3 comments on “*New Music* My Mash-Up of Neil Young’s “Southern Man” and Dolly Parton’s “Jolene”

  1. Paula says:

    I love how well these two songs work together. Nice one, Derek.

  2. Derek Flynn says:

    Thanks Paula. Surprised me too 😉

  3. I love Dolly Parton…just saying!

Leave a Reply

