It’s New Music Week! My Version of Jeff Buckley’s ‘Lilac Wine’

Jeff_Buckley

As I’m about to host the Irish launch of my new album ‘Debris’, this week is going to be ‘New Music Week’ on the ‘Rant’. I’ll be posting a diverse group of songs all week that I hope you’ll enjoy. First up is my version of Jeff Buckley’s ‘Lilac Wine:

Lilac Wine

I lost myself on a cool damp night
Gave myself in that misty light
Was hypnotized by a strange delight
Under a lilac tree

I made wine from the lilac tree
Put my heart in its recipe
It makes me see what I want to see…
And be what I want to be

When I think more than I want to think
Do things I never should do
I drink much more than I ought to drink
Because I brings me back you…

Lilac wine is sweet and heady, like my love
Lilac wine, I feel unsteady, like my love
Listen to me… I cannot see clearly
Isn’t that she coming to me nearly here?

Lilac wine is sweet and heady, wheres my love?
Lilac wine, I feel unsteady, where’s my love?
Listen to me, why is everything so hazy?
Isn’t that she, or am I just going crazy, dear?

Lilac wine, I feel unready, for my love
I feel unready for my love…

Written by Jeff Buckley

(Click on the image for link)

Leave a Reply

