*New Music* Brand New Original Song “Summer Storm”

219. Summer Storm

This week’s new music is a new original song taken from my upcoming new album “Debris”. This song is a collaboration with the brilliant spoken word poet Erin Fornoff, using her words and my music. This is “Summer Storm”:

Summer Storm

I don’t know why we went
Driving down a back road through a summer storm
Flying sideways as we skipped the highways
Headed east as the soil turned to sand
Doesn’t matter where we’ve been
The tide is always gonna roll in again

Maybe I’ll forgive you
And you might forgive me
For not having a lick of sense
And letting you go
Ah, but I don’t know
I really don’t know

You and me in that warm car
Driving down a back road
Through a storm with the rain pounding outside
As long as I’m breathing I’ll remember that drive
Running through the storm to buy you a soda
You said you wouldn’t kiss me if I ate a hot dog off the rollers
But I knew you were lying then
The tide is always gonna roll in again

We reached out our arms wide like kids
As we stood before the sea
And wondered what we did
To deserve a thing like this
You know it never made any sense
We can make a list in the sand of all our sins
But I knew you were lying then
The tide is always gonna roll in again

Words by Erin Fornoff

Music by Derek Flynn

Erin is one of the people behind LINGO, Ireland’s first spoken word festival which takes place October 17th, 18th & 19th, 2014. You can find out more about it here: http://www.lingofestival.com/

(Click on image for link)

One comment on “*New Music* Brand New Original Song “Summer Storm”

  1. Amy Eyrie says:

    Love this! Great collaboration.

Leave a Reply

