New Music Monday: Original Song from my New Album – “Dead Inside”

Long Stone

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! Next Monday, April 22, is the release date of my second album, “Sane Like You”. As a taster, here’s one of the tracks. This is “Dead Inside”:

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

Dead Inside
Five years beside me, I only know your name
Five years later, could you even say the same?
She is convenient, just another name
It’s easier to live like this when there’s someone to blame

And I don’t know why you even stay
You look at me and say I’m running away

But I’m running the right way
At least, I’m running the right way

You say her name like it’s a curse
You didn’t just give up, you did something worse
Lying on beaches with your carbon copy friends
Lying in other beds, when will it end?

And I don’t know why you even stay
And I don’t say this with a smile on my face

But I’m running the right way
At least, I’m running the right way
At least, I’m running the right way

You’re dead inside and you are

Photograph by Michael Stamp (@Aperture11)

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

Blog Link

4 comments on “New Music Monday: Original Song from my New Album – “Dead Inside”

  1. Great song. Very chill for this cloudy Monday morning.

    • amyeyrie says:

      Wow. What a great surprise for a Monday morning… I love the line “You say her name like it’s a curse. You didn’t just give up, you did something worse.” Can’t wait for the album.

  2. jamhenry says:

    Bloody brilliant Derek. Great grunge dynamic to the music. Fantastic lyrics. I agree with amyeyrie, I love that line “You say her name like it’s a curse.” I love it!

  3. […] Following the launch of his second album, Derek shares an original track from it for New Music Monday – Dead Inside. […]

Leave a Reply

