New Music Monday – My Version of Warren Zevon’s “The Hula Hula Boys”

99. warren-zevon

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! This week, it’s the turn of a somewhat obscure but brilliant song. This is my version of Warren Zevon’s “The Hula Hula Boys”:

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

The Hula Hula Boys

I saw her leave the luau
With the one who parked the cars
And the fat one from the swimming pool
They were swaying arm in arm

I could hear the ukuleles playing
Down by the sea
She’s gone with the hula hula boys
She don’t care about me
She’s gone with the hula hula boys
She don’t care about me

They’re singing
Ha’ia mai ana ka puana
Ha’ia mai ana ka puana
Ha’ia mai ana ka puana
Ha’ia mai ana ka puana

Yesterday she went to see the Polynesian band
But she came home with her hair all wet
And her clothes all filled with sand

I didn’t have to come to Maui
To be treated like a jerk
How do you think I feel
When I see the bellboys smirk?

And I can hear the ukuleles playing
Down by the sea
She’s gone with the hula hula boys
She don’t care about me

They’re singing
Ha’ia mai ana ka puana
Ha’ia mai ana ka puana
Ha’ia mai ana ka puana
Ha’ia mai ana ka puana
Ha’ia mai ana ka puana
Ha’ia mai ana ka puana

Written by Warren Zevon

(Image: Click the pic for credits)

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

Blog Link


One comment on “New Music Monday – My Version of Warren Zevon’s “The Hula Hula Boys”

  1. Not so obscure, loved this from the first listening, great version you have here!

Leave a Reply

