The Next Big Thing: My Upcoming Second Album

2nd Album

The Next Big Thing is a blog chain in which participating authors answer ten questions about their current work in progress or upcoming publications. I was tagged for this post by writer Susan Condon, who talks about her as-yet-untitled debut novel, here.

Because I like to be difficult, I decided to do this post a little differently and answer the questions on my new album rather than my latest book.

What is your title of your album?

I’ve just started working on it so the album is as-of-yet untitled.

Where did the idea come from for the album?

I released my debut album “Do You Dream At All?” in March, 2012, mainly because of the interest shown to my music by visitors to my blog. There was a wonderfully positive reaction to the first album and I’ve had a number of people ask me recently when the next album would be out. So, I thought it was time to start thinking about.

What genre does your album fall under?

Hard to say exactly what genre of music the album will be. I’m just now deciding what songs to put on it. Generally, it will be alternative rock, but – as with the first album – I’m hoping to include a diverse range of songs styles, from acoustic songs to heavy guitar-driven songs.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Ideally, I could see Johnny Depp or Brad Pitt playing me in the rock biopic. In reality, it would probably be Carrot Top!

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your album?

Hard edged guitar tunes mixed with acoustic numbers, featuring strong melodies and intense lyrics.

Will your album be self-published or represented by an agency?

My second album – like my first – will be entirely self-recorded and self-released. All the publicity will be undertaken on social media (Facebook, Twitter, etc.) However, the album will be available from all music outlets, such as, iTunes, Amazon, etc.

How long did it take you to record the album?

As I said, I’ve just started work on it, but I imagine the recording and mixing of the album will take approximately two months.

What other bands would you compare this album to within your genre?

That’s very hard to say. I will say my influences range from Nirvana to The Smiths, from Bruce Springsteen to The Shins, so take from that what you will!

Who or what inspired you to write this album?

The inspiration behind the recording of the album was the interest shown in the music I posted to my blog. As for the individual songs, as with my novel writing, the subject matter of the songs is not inspired by one specific incident. The songs deal mostly with relationships between people (often troubled relationships), whether they be romantic relationships or otherwise.

What else about your album might pique the listener’s interest?

In this age of corporate control and the homogenisation of music, I think it’s important that there are artists out there making their own type of music, independent of fads. I hope that is what my new album is and I hope people will support it.

 

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

7 comments on “The Next Big Thing: My Upcoming Second Album

  1. Susan Condon says:

    A totally different twist on The Next Big Thing, Derek, but really enjoyable. I’ve no doubt, as with ‘Do You Dream At All?’ your album will be brilliant! Look forward to hearing it :o)

  2. Yay! Yay! Yay! I can’t wait to have more music from you on my iPod. 😀

  3. Well, that’s awesome news. See, I told you I would be back. *grins* Godspeed with the new tunes, Derek. I’ll definitely keep an ear out for that. Cheers, my friend.

    -Jimmy

Leave a Reply

