New Music Monday – Special Springsteen Birthday Song “Drive All Night”

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! Yesterday, Bruce Springsteen turned 63! As some of you may know, I’m a *little* bit of a Boss fan. When I first got into Springsteen, The River was one of the first albums I listened to. This song is an obscure track on that album but one that always spoke to me. Had that kid known that – years later – I’d have the opportunity to record that song and have it listened to by ACTUAL people … well, you know the drill. So thanks guys for indulging my childhood fantasies, and to celebrate Bruce’s birthday, this is my version of  “Drive All Night”:

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

Drive All Night

When I lost you honey sometimes I think sometimes I lost my guts too
And I wish God would send me a word send me something I’m afraid to lose
Lying in the heat of the night like prisoners all our lives
I get shivers down my spine and all I wanna do is hold you tight

(Chorus)
I swear I’ll drive all night just to buy you some shoes
And to taste your tender charms
And I just wanna sleep tonight again in your arms

Tonight there’s fallen angels and they’re waiting for us down in the street
Tonight there’s calling strangers, hear them crying in defeat
Let them go, let them go, let them go,
Do their dances of the dead (let ’em go right ahead)
You just dry your eyes girl,
And c’mon c’mon c’mon, lets go to bed,
Baby, baby, baby

(Chorus)

There’s machines and there’s fire waiting on the edge of town
They’re out there for hire but baby they can’t hurt us now
Cause you’ve got,
You’ve got, you’ve got,
You’ve got my love,
You’ve got my love
Through the wind,
Through the rain,
The snow, the wind,
The rain
You’ve got,
You’ve got my,
My love heart and soul

Written by Bruce Springsteen

(Image: Click the pic for credits)

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

7 comments on “New Music Monday – Special Springsteen Birthday Song “Drive All Night”

  1. Cliona says:

    Love this song, great cover Derek. 🙂

  2. Emma says:

    Hell yeah, this was good 🙂

  3. jussiecup says:

    Wow. This is fantastic.

  4. Thanks for the tune. I LOVE it!

  5. Louise says:

    OMG I can’t believe Bruce Springsteen is 63!!! And sorry to be making my monday visit on Wednesday!!! Better late than never I suppose:) I had a nicer Wednesday because of it! xx L

  6. Ann Swann says:

    Great song ~ great cover!

Leave a Reply

