New Music Monday – My #MondayMashUp of Elbow and The Verve

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! This week, it’s a #MashUp of Elbow’s “One Day Like This” and The Verve’s “Bittersweet Symphony”:

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

On Day Like This/Bittersweet Symphony

Drinking in the morning sun, blinking in the morning sun
Shaking off the heavy one, yeah heavy like a loaded gun
What made me behave that way? Using words I never say
I can only think it must be love
Oh anyway, it’s looking like a beautiful day

Someone tell me how I feel, it’s silly wrong but vivid right
Oh, kiss me like a final meal, yeah kiss me like we die tonight
Cause holy cow I love you eyes and only now I see the light
Yeah lying with you half awake
Oh anyway it’s looking like a beautiful day

So throw those curtains wide
One day like this a year, it’d see me right
Throw those curtains wide
One day like this a year, it’d see me right
Throw those curtains wide
One day like this a year, it’d see me right, for life

Cos’ it’s a bittersweet symphony this life…
Trying to make ends meet, you’re a slave to the money then you die
I’ll take you down the only road I’ve ever been down…
You know the one that takes you to the places where all the pain lives

No change, I can change, I can change, I can change,
But I’m here in my mould, I am here in my mould
But I’m a million different people from one day to the next…
I can’t change my mould, no, no, no, no, no, no, no

“One Day Like This” written by Elbow

“Bittersweet Symphony” written by The Verve

(Image: Click the pic for credits)

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

5 comments on “New Music Monday – My #MondayMashUp of Elbow and The Verve

  1. Cliona says:

    Two great songs. Great mix/mash up Derek. 🙂

  2. amyeyrie says:

    This is a complicated mash up. Lyrical rock meets Heldentenor! Nice!

  3. sharonbuchbinder says:

    What a great way to start the week!

  4. Just got a chance to listen! Awesome!!! x

Leave a Reply

