New Music Monday – Special 4th July song: My version of Don Henley’s “The Boys of Summer”

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! This week, it’s the song voted as reader’s favourite American rock song. This is my version of Don Henley’s “Boys of Summer”

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

The Boys Of Summer 

Nobody on the road
Nobody on the beach
I feel it in the air
The summer’s out of reachEmpty lake, empty streets
The sun goes down alone
I’m driving by your house
Though I know you’re not homeBut I can see you
Your brown skin shining in the sun
You got your hair combed back and your
Sunglasses on baby
I can tell you my love for you will still be strong
After the boys of summer, have goneI never will forget those nights
I wonder if it was a dream
Remember how you made me crazy
Remember how I made you scream
Now I don’t understand
What happened to our love
But babe I’m gonna get you back
I’m gonna show you what I’m made of

I can see you
Your brown skin shining in the sun
I see you walking real slow
Smiling at everyone
I can tell you my love for you will still be strong
After the boys of summer, have goneOut on the road today
I saw a deadhead sticker on a cadillac
A little voice inside my head said:
“Don’t look back, you can never look back”
I thought I knew what love was
What did I know?
Those days are gone forever
I should just let them go but,I can see you
Your brown skin shining in the sun
You got the top pulled down
Radio on baby
I can tell you my love for you will still be strong
After the boys of summer have goneI can see you
Your brown skin shining in the sun
You got your hair slicked back and those
Wayfarers on, baby
I can tell you my love for you will still be strong
After the boys of summer, have gone


Written by Don Henley

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

2 comments on “New Music Monday – Special 4th July song: My version of Don Henley’s “The Boys of Summer”

  1. Cliona says:

    Nice one Derek! Suits your voice really well that one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

