New Music Monday – Special St. Patrick’s Day Song

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! I want to thank everyone for suggesting Irish songs for me to cover in my Paddy’s Day #NewMusicMonday. In the end, I went for the one I think reflects the age we’re living in at the moment. This is my version of The Pogue’s ‘Thousands Are Sailing’:

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

4 comments on “New Music Monday – Special St. Patrick’s Day Song

  1. Nice. I haven’t heard this song before but I like it. It has a great story to tell and of course you told it well.

  2. I love it! I have not heard it before either, but I love the story in the song.

    Wonderful job, Derek. 🙂

  3. Susan Condon says:

    Well done Derek. I hadn’t heard this song either but enjoyed it :o)

  4. Amy Eyrie says:

    Beautiful song and a great arrangement. Your voice is amazing in these ballads. I think you are part Selkie. Now that I think about it, that film of Ruth by the water… hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

