New Music Monday – Jeff Buckley’s “Lover, You Should’ve Come Over”

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! This week, one of my all-time favourite songs. This is my version of Jeff Buckley’s “Lover, You Should’ve Come Over”:

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

Lover, You Should’ve Come Over

Looking out the door
I see the rain fall upon the funeral mourners
Parading in a wake of sad relations
As their shoes fill up with water

Maybe I’m too young
To keep good love from going wrong
But tonight, you’re on my mind so
You never know

Broken down and hungry for your love
With no way to feed it
Where are you tonight?
Child, you know how much I need it.
Too young to hold on
And too old to just break free and run

Sometimes a man gets carried away,
When he feels like he should be having his fun
Much too blind to see the damage he’s done
Sometimes a man must awake to find that, really,
He has no-one…

So I’ll wait for you… And I’ll burn
Will I ever see your sweet return?
Oh, will I ever learn?
Oh, Lover, you should’ve come over
Cause it’s not too late.

Lonely is the room the bed is made
The open window lets the rain in
Burning in the corner is the only one
Who dreams he had you with him
My body turns and yearns for a sleep
That won’t ever come
It’s never over,
My kingdom for a kiss upon her shoulder
It’s never over,
all my riches for her smiles when I slept so soft against her…
It’s never over,
All my blood for the sweetness of her laughter…
It’s never over,
She’s a tear that hangs inside my soul forever…

But maybe I’m just too young to keep good love
From going wrong
Oh… lover you should’ve come over…

Yes, and I feel too young to hold on
I’m much too old to break free and run
Too deaf, dumb, and blind
To see the damage I’ve done
Sweet lover, you should’ve come over
Oh, love, well I’ll wait for you
Lover, you should’ve come over
‘Cause it’s not too late.

Lyrics & music by Jeff Buckley

 

(Image: Click the pic for credits)

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

7 comments on “New Music Monday – Jeff Buckley’s “Lover, You Should’ve Come Over”

  1. Paula Dennan says:

    Yay! So glad you recorded this Derek.

    It’s one of my all-time favourite songs too and I love this version. It’s rawer than the original but it really suits your voice.

  2. Cliona says:

    Gas, I just had this playing in the car this morning. Great song and you’ve done it really well, love your voice Derek. 🙂

  3. MoloneyKing says:

    I love this song, so nice to hear your version of it Derek. JeffB eat you’re heart out!

    Beir bua

  4. Susan Condon says:

    Another great song Derek – each one even better than the last!

  5. Amy Eyrie says:

    My God, your voice sounds great on this. The emotion is pitch perfect. Stunningly good.

  6. jamhenry says:

    I really enjoyed this version Derek. It was excellent. Your voice sounds great on the track.

  7. […] likes of Waltzing Matilda, Martha, The Ship Song, Crazy In Love, Titanium and my personal favourite Lover, You Should’ve Come Over but Derek manages to make each one his own. 2. ‘Do You Dream At All?’ – April […]

Leave a Reply

