“V-Fiction”: An Experiment Merging Music, Writing and Film

In my previous post, I talked about how musicians and writers have combined music and writing. There’s another element to this and that’s video. With the advent of new technology, an exciting new development is the merging of – not only words and music – but also imagery. I mentioned in the previous post about authors putting together soundtracks for their novels. A lot of writers have been using video as well as music to advertise their books. Many have also created book trailers with music and images or video. Many authors, book reviewers and bloggers have done “video blogs” or “v-blogs”, as they’re known.

People have also been talking a lot about flash fiction lately. Crime writer and fellow Writing.ie blogger, Declan Burke, wrote in a recent Irish Times article: “Flash fiction – very short, bite-sized stories – has become the favourite form of many writers. It’s succinct, punchy and effective – perfect for the online reader and perfectly in synch with the times.” Writer Warren Ellis calls it “burst culture”: “Short bursts are the way to go. Every day, millions of people download single lumps of data that take them three minutes to consume. They’re called mp3s. It’s a burst culture.”

So this week, I thought I’d do something different and combine the three elements – video, music and words: something I call “V-Fiction”.

With the amazing amount of software that’s available – including free software such as Windows Movie Maker – this is easy to do. The video footage I used is taken from a performance piece by visual artist, Ruth Flynn. The words and music are mine.

Click here to view.

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

13 comments on ““V-Fiction”: An Experiment Merging Music, Writing and Film

  1. ConnieMaria says:

    Interesting post. Very cool vid. Hypnotizing. I liked it! 🙂

  2. Susan says:

    That silhouette is haunting and I love the music superimposed on it. Have you / your other half got more material on the Youtube?

  3. jamhenry says:

    I really enjoyed this experience Derek. Something different for our senses as it’s not a talking book, not a music video, nor is it just images for words you’ve written. Reality and its shadow come very close together here. Excellent.

  4. Krystal Wade says:

    Very interesting. It’s creepy/captivating!

  5. sheilarlamb says:

    Reblogged this on Pagans, Saints, and Potatoes and commented:
    Check out Derek Flynn’s blog, particularly his pos on merging music, writing, and film. Then listen to his piece, Sleepwalking.

  6. This is gorgeous. I’m in the middle of writing a story relating to the sea so it resonates with me.

  7. Your lateral thinking into creativity never cease to amaze me Derek.
    C.x

  8. Oooooooh how exciting … And mysterious … A lovely combination for a v-tale … You left me wanting more.

  9. Rob Adams says:

    You can keep doing stuff like this. Please. ;o)

  10. Debra Kristi says:

    Ooooh! You really set the mood.

  11. Amy Eyrie says:

    This is fracking cool! I love this V-Fiction piece. Powerful imagery. Powerful words. Brilliant!

  12. I really enjoyed this. 🙂 The music is creepy, the picture is creepy, and the lovely Irish accent makes my heart happy. You should do more of these!

  13. I loved the brooding quality of the piece, which prompted me to respond with one I did several years ago, but I did something in error and pushed the wrong button–the one that sent it to some distant planet obviously, instead of posting it as a video reply. Anyway, I too love this co-mingling of mediums and would like to do more with it. 🙂 The words and the drawings are mine. The music we borrowed from Holtz, and Evan is both actor and narrator. http://youtu.be/8sSWMTAMkQI

Leave a Reply

