What Kind Of A Year Has It Been?

It’s almost Xmas Eve and everyone’s busy doing Christmass-y things, so this will be a short post. At this time of year, everybody does their “Best-of Year” polls. I wanted to take a quick look back at the amazing things that have happened to me on this blog and on twitter over the past year.

I first started tweeting around May of this year. I didn’t know prior to this if Twitter would be for me. (What would I say? Would I have to be witty and erudite?) But I quickly found that I loved it. And I also – just as quickly – found many like-minded souls, many of whom soon became firm friends, both in real-life and on Twitter.

Around the same time, I started my blog. I’ve been a musician for many years, often toiling away in obscurity. I soon found that I had an outlet – not just for my writing – but for my music. Music that previously would have been sitting in a drawer gathering dust was now making its way out into the world. And, better still, people were responding to it and telling me how much they enjoyed it. I asked people to nominate songs for me to record, asked them for their favourite Xmas songs. All in all, it’s been about as much fun as you can have and still be legal! The response I have received from people – to both my writing and my music – has been one of the most amazing things to have happened to me this year.

But, by far, the two most amazing things to have happened to me this year were two initiatives that show the power, humanity, and caring of those in the Twitter community. The first was the #twitterxmassingle organised by Brenda Drumm in aid of Holles St. Hospital in Dublin. Words can’t describe this project (and, believe me, I and many others have tried!). Suffice to say, that everyone who has been touched by this project knows just how special it was.

The other was the #depressionhurts project organised by Alan Celtic and Norah Bohan. Aiming to draw attention to – and de-stigmatise – the issues of depression and suicide, this was another project I was honoured to be a part of.

All in all, this has been an amazing year for me and an amazing year for Twitter. I couldn’t possibly list all the wonderful people I’ve met through Twitter or all the wonderful people who read and commented on my blog. You are some of the most supportive, generous – and downright entertaining – people I’ve met in my life. I hope I’ve been half as supportive or entertaining in return. I wish you all a Happy Christmas and I hope the New Year brings you happiness and success in whatever you do.

And I’ll be here, ranting, singing, and helping in any way I can!

This entry was posted in Writing.

30 comments on “What Kind Of A Year Has It Been?

  1. Krystal Wade says:

    Merry Christmas! Maybe you won’t be so busy in the New Year and you can get back to harassing me on a daily basis!?!

    • Jim McGrath says:

      Many blessings and thanks for your words and music. May the new year be all that you wish it to be. And may the path of your life be that wish you follow with joy.

      Peace always,

      Jim McGrath.

  2. Derek, apart from your fabulous music, that you were such an important part of two VERY important twitter initiated projects, speaks volume…….. but it doesn’t say you have to be one of the nicest, most supportive guys around – so there I’ve said it!!.

    Don’t know about @BrendaDrumm but @alanceltic and @talentcoop (me) couldn’t have done #depressionhurts http://t.co/7VgAeEcG without you!!

    You’re a true Hero and a rock legend – Woo Hoo!!

    Hope 2012 is another fab year for you – you deserve it

    Best – Norah xx

  3. Ditto for me, Derek, regarding Twitter. I’ve been tweeting in earnest for about a year now. Like you, I was reticent about it at first. But you know what – I’ve been uplifted so often by the many good-hearted people I’ve met in ‘twitter village’ – and you are most certainly one of them. I’m already looking forward to your words (you don’t really rant!) and music in 2012.

    Best wishes to you and your family for the Christmas season 🙂

  4. Louise says:

    A very merry, happy, peaceful and delightful christmas to you and your family Derek. It was great to make contact with you this year-I feel I have definately gained a good and true friend. Have a brilliant 2012!!!XXX

  5. KatyO says:

    Happy holidays and here’s to 2012 being just as amazing! And a quick thank you from me to you too for all of your encouragement, help and friendship, I appreciate it more than words can say 🙂

  6. Lovely post, Derek. It’s been lovely meeting you too – first on twitter and then out in the real world! I hope you and the family have a lovely Christmas and a very happy and healthy year ahead.

    Maria x

  7. Merry Christmas, kind sir. 🙂 I am so happy to have met you via Twitter. Your music is wonderful, your writing is inspiring, and your support in #depressionhurts makes my heart very happy. Depression hits very close to home for me and I know a lot of others.

    I wish you a very happy New Year. 😀

    P.S. One day, when my hubby and I move to Ireland, I will meet you in person!

  8. Wishing you all you deserve in the New Year. Here’s to friendships.

    C.x

  9. Jane Travers says:

    Hear hear, Delboy!

    Crikey, have you only been around for 6 months or so? Seems like forever. *wanders off, grumbling*

  10. Hazel Katherine Larkin says:

    Twitter – it is a force for good. But only because it has good people on it – like the aforementioned and wonderful @BrendaDrumm as well as the other wonderful people who have commented here before me.

    Have a great Christmas, Derek, and a wonderful year ahead in 2012.

    Hazel x (@hazelklarkin)

  11. Lovely post Derek.

    I know for me personally joining Twitter and starting my blog (largely thanks to encouragement from my friends on Twitter) has really helped restore my confidence, which has taken a knock over the last few years.

    It’s been great to chat to people online, then meet them in person to discover that they’re even nicer and more supportive in the real world.

    Both #twitterxmassingle and #depressionhurts have just served to highlight how powerful Twitter can be, you should all be proud of what you’ve achieved.

    Happy Christmas to you and your family, I hope you have a good one.

  12. Cliona says:

    Really nice words/sentiments Derek. You’re an amazing guy. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a rocking 2012. 🙂

  13. Merry Christmas and Happy New year, friend! May it be a blessed and beautiful holiday season for you!

  14. Pamreader says:

    Wonderful post! You definitely light up my twitter stream. Merry Christmas x

  15. eamonn o'cinnsealaigh says:

    Nice one Derek.You had a very worthwhile year.The mark of a strong person,is not what they can learn,but what they can do with/for,and teach others.You have excelled here my friend!!Hope you have a good Christmas and new year.Best wishes to you and yours dude…..

  16. margaretmarymurphy says:

    Wonderful blog Derek, thank you for being one of my wopnderful followers. Like you, my best decision of the year was joining up to the twitter community, I am never alone or short of stimulating conversation. I wish you and yours a very happ Christmas and all you wish for in the coming year. xxx

  17. alisonwells says:

    Well said, Derek and it’s been a pleasure to talk to you here and meet in real life which I hope happens again. I’ve enjoyed your music and reading your novel extracts and fascinating literary posts and I know good things will happen for you in the future, your talent is clear. Hope you and your family have a lovely Christmas x Alison

  18. Shel Bouse says:

    Merry Christmas Derek, amazing things have happened to me too via twitter too.

  19. Hey, good things happen to good people Mo Chara, it has been a pleasure to meet, share, sing, and support with you……keep up the good work Merry Christmas Derek..

  20. Liza says:

    As usual Derek, your words are as beautiful as your music. I’m so glad to have met you, you make the world a better place, that’s for sure!

  21. Rob Adams says:

    Every time I take a break from Twitter, in a laudable attempt to “get stuff done”–I find that I’ve missed so many of the people I had been interacting with. It really hits when I get back and find the same wonderful folk still being wonderful, along with a new batch of them to add as well.

    Thanks for all your sharing, Derek. I have been certainly blessed by knowing you and reading and listening to your creative and though-provoking offerings, both on Twitter and here on your blog.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and yours, my friend!

  22. Nice one, Derek. Here’s to 2012!

  23. Derek ’twas a real pleasure working with you on #depressionhurts. I have been accused on occasion of wasting vast quantities of time on twitter. If that can come of it then i rest my case. But actually I’m writing this purely to say one thing. My brother in law just came to stay for Christmas tonight. He had already watched the film. And wasn’t sure whether it was Bruce or not singing at the start. Well there you go:)

  24. This was also my first year on twitter and blogging. It’s amazing what can happen when you just put yourself out there. Great post.

  25. kez says:

    have a really happy one x x x

  26. Merry Christmas and a happy 2012, Derek 🙂 Hope to make it to a tweet-up next year!

  27. irishminx says:

    Lovely blog Derek.
    Happy Christmas & may 2012
    bring your hearts desire.
    Sláinte

  28. Susan Condon says:

    Wonderful blog Derek – sorry I only got 2 read it now – the usual hustle and bustle of Christmas sapped all my energy and only getting to catch up. In all the doom and gloom of recent months it’s great to highlight all the good things about Ireland and the people who live there. The one good thing about the recession is that people seem to have remembered what it’s all about and are helping each other! A Happy and Healthy New Year to all. :o)

  29. That’s a lovely post Derek – only tweeting 6 months myself and two great projects under our belts…The funniest moments I’ve had in the past six months have been on twitter and nearly all of them involved you… 🙂 Happy New Year xx #spoons #marmalade…

Leave a Reply

