New Music Monday – Your Fave Xmas Song: ‘Fairytale of New York’

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! Last week, readers picked their favourite Xmas song for me to record and this was the result: ‘Fairytale of New York’ by The Pogues.

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

18 comments on “New Music Monday – Your Fave Xmas Song: ‘Fairytale of New York’

  1. I’ll be honest Derek – I was a bit worried about a cover of one of the most iconic Christmas songs of our time. However, as they say on the X-Factor ….. you nailed it!! Fair play, man. πŸ™‚

  2. MoloneyKing says:

    Only you could do such a great cover Derek. Love this one.

  3. Maura says:

    The second years say ‘Hell yeah…” Derek…thanks for picking our favourite song \o/ !!
    Maura – great stuff πŸ™‚ Happy christmas from all in Calasantius College, Oranmore.

  4. Who doesn’t love Fairytale of New York?! And you’ve done a brilliant job with it too, Derek! Is there no end to your talent. My favourite one yet! x

  5. I was a bit worried about listening to a cover of my fave Christmas song but it’s fantastic. Love it, love it, love it! Shane who? πŸ™‚

  6. writermels says:

    Wow, going goosey here because I’ve met you! Well done, you! Loved it.

    Merry Christmas! x

  7. Really enjoyed that Derek, I love Fairytale of New York.

  8. Lovely! Great job. One of my favourite songs, EVER! Happy Christmas to you and your family! πŸ™‚

  9. I LOVE this song, I LOVE Sharon Corr’s covers and I LOVE yours πŸ™‚
    There’s no way to end wrong when mixing good songs and good musicians/singers πŸ™‚

  10. Liza says:

    Love. This! Happy Christmas, Derek!!

  11. I love it Derek. I love the Pogues singing this one and get Goosebumps every time I hear it. Got those same Goosebumps just now listening to you singing. Well done Derek.

  12. Amy Eyrie says:

    Wow! Brilliant! So much passion.

  13. Ashley Prince says:

    This is wonderful! I love it. πŸ˜€

  14. Louise says:

    Sorry for taking so long to visit – but it was worth the wait – loved it:)

  15. LOVE your music and so happy to find your blog πŸ™‚ Merry Christmas!

  16. Ciara mccorley says:

    I personally am quite sick of fairytale of New York, but when you sing it? New lease of life it needed πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

