New Music Monday – ‘Wuthering Heights’ + Suggestions for Xmas songs

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! You came, you saw…you voted. The Top 3 picks in “Choose Your Own Song” were:

  1. “Wuthering Heights” – Kate Bush 
  2. “Video Game” – Lana Del Rey 
  3. “Tower of Song” – Leonard Cohen

So, this week, it’s the No.1 pick: “Wuthering Heights” by Kate Bush:

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

*Xmas song suggestions!*

Also, this week I’m taking suggestions for a Christmas song for me to record. And I’d love something off the beaten track, that hasn’t been done to death. What do you think? Leave your suggestions in the comments below.

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

26 comments on “New Music Monday – ‘Wuthering Heights’ + Suggestions for Xmas songs

  1. My vote for Christmas is Silent Night. It’s my absolute favorite Christmas song. Oh, and this song is cool, but since Nirvana was an influencer of your tone, I’d love to hear you sing something by them. Just sayin. 🙂

  2. Hi Derek,

    Well done on Wuthering Heights, a different take. I preferred your new version of the song to Andrea Arnold’s new version of the story/movie!

    For Christmas, how about one of the oldest carols in Europe which hails from your neighbouring county: The Wexford Carol, sometimes known as The Enniscorthy Carol. You may know it, it’s gorgeous. I think Anúna did a version of it.

    Maeve

  3. lizamartz says:

    Great song today, Derek! As usual, it perked up my Monday!

  4. Great version Derek, wuz singing along I was, now that we all ‘rockstars’ together like….#TwitterXmasSingle… will be thinking up a Cristmas Carol, this needs thought… though I like the sound of ‘The Enniscorthy Carol’ – Best wishes Maura

  5. SandySue says:

    I love your version of this! Really made my Monday; thanks! As for a Christmas song, I agree the Wexford Carol would be beautiful. One I’ve always liked, and not done to death, is the Peter, Paul & Mary song A Soalin. It’s just cheery and makes me smile. Good Luck!

  6. TC says:

    Derek loved it – didn’t think song would work with male voice – it does.
    Good job! 🙂

  7. Cliona says:

    Sounds great Derek, never heard it sung by a guy! Nice one.
    Trying to think of a ‘good’ Christmas song that hasn’t been done and redone and overdone… I’ll be back. 🙂

  8. Cliona says:

    Ok for a not so well know one… Tom Waits – Christmas Card from a Hooker in Minneapolis. Go on Derek, you can do it!! 🙂

  9. ‘Its meeeee’ wow Love this Derek. You sing it with such a cool grungey version of the song.

    I vote for Silent Night, please!

  10. rosereads says:

    I love New Music Monday…and the song.

    I vote for Silent Night was well.

  11. Amy Eyrie says:

    Wow. Really well done, Derek! Brilliant. hmmm. My X Mas pick is Christmas (Baby Please Come Home).

  12. Amy Eyrie says:

    I am adding another 2 more X-Mas song requests: Fairytale of NY & Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.

  13. C.G. Powell says:

    Fantastic, as usual!! My Christmas suggestion is “We three Kings”.

  14. Excellent! Frosty the Snowman. He needs a facelift!

  15. Love it Derek – well done! Did you ever get to hear Albert Niland’s version? i love his, but I think yours is better 😉

    Don’t laugh but one of my favourite Christmas songs ever is “A spaceman came travelling” – i KNOW – scarlet for me!! Chris de Bleedin’ Burgh! will try revert with something a little cooler!! 😉

  16. June Shannon says:

    Great version of a fab song- well done- I have a number of Christmas favourites including:
    O Holy Night and All I want for Christmas is you:) but I also love the old classics like The Christmas Song (Chestnuts roasting on an open fire) the Andy Williams version or I’ll be home for Christmas.

  17. You pulled it off brilliantly!! Well done!!!

    My vote for a Christmas Song betrays my eternal punk rock devotion to Elvis: BLUE CHRISTMAS.

  18. Ciara mccorley says:

    Chris Rea, Driving Home For Xmas! Great song!

  19. Fairytale of New York has to be the best ever Christmas song. John Lennon’s So this is Christmas always makes me feel emotional. Have they both been done to death? I never tire of them.

  20. Debra Kristi says:

    Ooh! I loved this song way back when. Well done!

  21. Jo McIntosh (@has2bpurple) says:

    Hi Derek
    Great version! Hadn’t heard that song for years!
    My favourite old Christmas song is White Christmas by Bing Crosby.
    More recent (ish!) is Fairytale in New York by The Pogues, and War is Over by John Lennon.
    I also like the much more obscure Mele Kalikimaka by Chris Isaak!!
    Look forward to hearing whatever you choose
    Jo 🙂

  22. patricia ferry says:

    river by joni mitchell

  23. @doalty says:

    Similar to at least one other comment here I’d suggest “A spaceman came travelling”. I was a Chris De Burgh fan for my sins in my foolish youth.

  24. Susan says:

    Hey that’s good 🙂 Like the guitar.

Leave a Reply

