New Music Monday – ‘High & Dry’ + Choose Your Own Song

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! Today’s song is another piece recorded live in the Musician’s Room at the Tyrone Guthrie Centre.

But before I get to that, I want to announce something that I think could be kind of cool. Over the next few Mondays, I’m going to be trying something out called ‘Choose Your Own Song’. The idea is that, you – my trusty blog reader – suggest a song that you would like to see me record a cover version of. It can be anything: your favourite song; something odd, obscure or quirky; male singer, female singer. It doesn’t matter. I’ll pick the most interesting suggestions and put it to the vote which one I should record.

So, if you’re interested in hearing me record your favourite song (or any song), leave a comment with the song title, who performs it, and why you think I should record it!

Now, back to the music. This is my version of Radiohead’s “High and Dry”:

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

High and Dry

Two jumps in a week, I bet you think that’s pretty clever don’t you boy
Flyin’ on your motorcycle, watching all the ground beneath you drop
You’d kill yourself for recognition, kill yourself to never ever stop
You broke another mirror, you’re turning into something you are not

Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry
Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry

Drying up in conversation, you will be the one who cannot talk
All your insides fall to pieces, you just sit there wishing you could still make love
They’re the ones who’ll hate you when you think you’ve got the world
all sussed out
They’re the ones who’ll spit at you, you will be the one screaming out

Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry
Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry

Oh, it’s the best thing that you’ve ever had
The best thing that you’ve ever, ever had
It’s the best thing that you’ve ever had
The best thing you’ve had has gone away

So don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry
Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry
Don’t leave me high
Don’t leave me high
Don’t leave me dry

 

Lyrics & music: Radiohead

Don’t forget to leave the name of the song you’d like to see me record a cover version of in the comments below. And if you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

44 comments on “New Music Monday – ‘High & Dry’ + Choose Your Own Song

  1. Hello there 🙂

    Love your piano Music Mondays lately 😉 With no hesitation I have to suggest “Touch-a touch-a touch-a” by the sublime Susan Sarandon from the motion picture The Rocky Horror Picture Show 🙂 I’ve always loved this song (and the film, so wild and pure and crazy 🙂 and I’ve always been curious to hear a man sing it because I somehow believe it would keep the innocence Susan gave it but in a different way (if that makes sense :p)

  2. Nicely done, Derek. A great way to start my Monday.

  3. KatyO says:

    Exciting! ‘A Kiss To Build A Dream On’ is one of my most favourite songs EVAH http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unHAvQUpW74&feature=fvwrel KD Lang did a beautiful cover of it. Would love to hear you sing Doris Day or Frank Sinatra too 🙂

  4. Really enjoyed this Derek, High and Dry is one of my favourite Radiohead songs.

    I’ll get back to you with my Choose Your Own Song suggestion later.

  5. Lovely as always, Derek. And my request is Band on the Run by Paul Mc Cartney and Wings – because I love it and I’m old so just indulge me! x

  6. Jane Travers says:

    Hey Derek, the fact that you’re in the Tyrone Guthrie centre makes me think of Tower of Song by Leonard Cohen. Do it!

  7. I think you’d do an excellent job with ‘A Man Needs a Maid,’ by Neil Young. 🙂

  8. Did you know this is my favorite song by Radiohead? 🙂 I’d personally like to see you do a comical song…something Disneylike…show us your fun side. Enough with the serious, Derek! (I’m an evil friend, aren’t I?) So, I’m thinking A Whole New World…..

  9. Jo McIntosh (@has2bpurple) says:

    Hi Derek. Great listen!! I love Radiohead!
    Why don’t you try Lana Del Rey Video Games. Just because it’s my favourite song at the moment, it’s hauntily good, and I think it would be a challenge!!
    Jo (@has2bpurple) 🙂

  10. David Beem says:

    Fantastic! And I love the idea of custom ordering a song–you just know I’m going to suggest something by Puccini! 😉

    Great work Derek, love this blog!

  11. I love the original, and it’s interesting to hear this piano take. As one of the few songs that I can actually play on guitar, though, I’d love to heard a guitar take on this 🙂

  12. Days Like This, Van Morrison ! 🙂

  13. Sandy Sue says:

    This started my morning beautifully, Derek! Thanks. 🙂 A song…hmm. Though my favorite song is Bette Midler’s “The Rose”, Jane’s suggestion reminded me that I’ve always wanted to hear a really rocked out version of Leonard Cohen’s “Everybody Knows”. Good luck deciding!

  14. simontall says:

    Hey! Like your version! I used to do this in a band with a female singer. Can’t reach those high notes myself! Like the piano.
    My request is ‘When the stars go blue’ by Ryan ADAMS. Another song I would love to cover but dont think my voice could do it justice! (this is why I stick to mainly my own songs!)
    Hoping to add music to my blog next year, time permitting! (so might come to you for advice if you don’t mind).
    Great job!

  15. Kevinfm says:

    Great version, my suggestion would be ‘Fall At Your Feet’ by Crowded House. I think it is the most universally liked song

  16. Well done Derek, great idea with the song suggestions. I have a catholic taste in music, but my 2 favourite love songs happen to be country music songs, George Jone’s “he stopped loving her today” and ” she said hello country bumpkin” forget who sings that. The saddest song ever written is “in the ghetto” another favourite is meatloaf ” 2 out of 3 ain’t bad” better stop now, could be here forever with all my favs LOL xx

  17. Maeve O'Sullivan says:

    Nice version of ‘High and Dry’, Derek. Great idea to get suggestions for covers. Mine is ‘Grapefruit Moon’ by Tom Waits, a great singer, songwriter and piano man, as I’m sure you well know!

  18. I’ve narrowed it down to two songs. I’d love to hear your take on either ‘Fever Dog’ by Stillwater from the movie ‘Almost Famous’ – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fxdDJYvVyE OR Lover, You Should’ve Come Over by Jeff Buckley.

  19. Jazzygal says:

    Oh, what a great idea! I really like Margaretmaryurphy’s Bat out of Hell suggestion: I Like the Rocky Horror idea too though maybe not that song. If you go for Rocky Horror then it’s gotta be a youtube video ….in FULL Rocky Horror regalia!!

    xx Jazzy

  20. This is so beautifully sung and a wonderful arrangement. I think Band on the Run is a great suggestion.

  21. Nicely done Derek… my nine year old suggests ‘Champion’ by Chipmunk, I like Ateam by Ed Sheeran myself…all united in this house then..lol.. \o/…liked ‘High & Dry!’ – Maura

  22. Louise says:

    Great piece Derek – Hmm now for my suggestion – well pretty well anything by the Script:)

  23. Anything by Elton John. Preferably Come What May. 🙂 Forgive me if you have already done it, I have not searched your entire archive yet. =/

  24. Great idea! I’m with Jo McIntosh on this one. Definitely Lana Del Rey, Video Games. Keep hearing this everywhere. Beautiful song. I can’t stop singing it, but my singing is bloody terrible. Alternatively Lego House by Ed Sheeran, just in case Jo lynches me for stealing her idea! 🙂

  25. Catie Rhodes says:

    Very well done. You have an amazing talent.

    My request: “One with the Birds” by Bonnie Prince Billy.

  26. My request is “Walking in Memphis” by Marc Cohn. I want to hear your Irish lilt singing about an American southern town. I mean, that is cool!

  27. Valerie says:

    How about the writer by Ellie goulding… It marries your two passions together, music and song and I really really like that song too.. One of my favs

  28. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eefVgc_qhxg This! Because it’s one of my favourite songs and I’d love to hear a male vocal on it!

  29. You always do such a great job! I love listening to your music 🙂 Hmmm I am torn between Aerosmith’s “Amazing” (I love love love that song & Aerosmith in general) and Van Morrison’s “Dancing in the Moonlight.” Reason why? I think you’d rock an Aerosmith song! Van Morrison just makes me happy 😛 Great job as usual! Have a great week!

  30. Debra Kristi says:

    Hi Derek! I actually started my day with your wonderful arrangement, but you made me go away and think about which song I would want you to perform. I couldn’t just snap any old song off the top of my head. You know, I would love to hear you sing “Believe” by Staind. I think you would do a fabulous job with that piece.

  31. Kelly Gamble says:

    You KNOW I’m going to suggest something very obscure and 1930-ish, so here is one of my favorites, and oh, to hear you sing the line ‘I need a little hotdog between my rolls’ would be priceless!
    “I Need a Little Sugar in my Bowl” by Bessie Smith.

  32. Hazel Gaynor says:

    Hmmmm, what to choose, what to choose. Can I suggest Wonderwall, Oasis and other than that, how about Wuthering Heights, Kate Bush 🙂

  33. Anne Marie o'connor says:

    Good idea!! I suggest you do Tom Waits ‘martha’

  34. This is my fave to date, love the paino Derek. My song…it is an old Irish one, A Mothers love is a blessing.

  35. Amy Eyrie says:

    Love, love, love this song. You sing so well!!!!

  36. Amy Eyrie says:

    I vote for Coldplay’s “The Scientist”

  37. Orla says:

    Great rendition of High & Dry Derek! i’m with Kevin, Crowded House “Fall at your feet” or Crowded House “7 worlds collide” :)))
    Orla

  38. Wild Horses, Natasha Bedingfield…. you might need to drop it an octave, though. Actually, that’s why I’m requesting it…. I’d really like to see a non-gender specific version of it. There are a lot of great lines in it, and it has the ever encompassing themes of being trapped and wanting to not be trapped. It’s a good artists’ song imo. (It’s not the same as the one that has all the millions of covers to it.)

  39. Hi Derek. Yesterday Anita Chapman kindly nominated my blog for the Liebster Award. I have been asked to choose five blogs I enjoy reading. As yours is my favourite I have nominated your blog. To find out more about the award and to read why I chose your blog go to http://howtostaymarriedwhilstwritinganovel.wordpress.com/
    🙂

  40. You have a fantastic singing voice Derek…Love your cover!!! I would love to hear you sing “Best I Ever Had (grey sky morning) by Vertical Horizon.

  41. Fabulous, Derek, as always! Here’s my suggestions (because you said you’re a little bit country) ~ The River or Standing Outside The Fire, both by Garth Brooks. Great songs for dreamers, artists, writers, when you need a pick-me-up-so-I-can-keep-going song.

  42. Great Job Derek! I think any Radiohead song would be a great match for your voice. Also I think songs by Pulp might be worth looking into, though I can’t think of a specific song. One song that comes to mind, though I will give that it might be an obvious one is Fairy Tale In New York.

Leave a Reply

