New Music Monday – Film Score

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! And now for something completely different. This is an orchestral instrumental that was intended as a piece of film music. Very different from my normal style but I’d love to know what you think.

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

This entry was posted in Music.

6 comments on “New Music Monday – Film Score

  1. Louise says:

    Gosh I’m a little stressed today – and I’m not sure this helped! Which is good musically,if the aim was to heighten tension-going to go make a cup of tea and calm my nerves:)

  2. Krystal Wade says:

    It sounds spooky, and befitting of a video game. I keep thinking of the castle parts of Mario. I like it. 🙂

  3. Leigh Evans says:

    You’re a bit of renaissance man, aren’t you? I listened to it while I did all the stuff I do to delay writing. Cleaned up the desk. Refilled the water bottle. Glanced at the emails.

    I wasn’t hooked by the first 15 seconds. However, 30 seconds into it, I got a better sense of the piece. I liked it a lot from the midpoint on, and hit replay when it finished. It reminded me of one of those films with multiple storylines–in the end all the pieces fit together. You leave the cinema hopeful.

  4. Amy Eyrie says:

    I love when the drums come in at 1:35… that is when this composition starts to take off! The structure of this is good. I am amazed at what you achieved with limited samples and it makes me wonder what you are capable of with a fully kitted out pro-tools and orchestral sample library.

    But before I encourage you to take on yet another career, I want you to finish The House of Thebes 🙂

  5. Yep, I’m a film score fanatic. I really liked this. I felt at times it felt a bit monotone, and was pretty saddened when it ended, I wanted more. The ending didn’t really “end” it for me, if that makes sense. I’d like to see more like this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

