Blog Award Time

I was recently lucky enough to receive three blog awards. Given times constraints and other matters at the moment, I can’t do a separate post for each, so I hope no-one will mind if I include all three in this post. And, let me just say from the off, none of the people I recommend in this post should feel obliged to do the same. I just wanted to acknowledge those that gave them to me and spread the love!

The first award is the Liebster Blog Award which was given to me by Gregory G. Allen who has the wonderfully titled It Ain’t Over ‘Til the Fat Guy is Skinny blog. The rules are as follows:

1. Thank the giver and link back to the blogger who gave it to you.
2. Reveal your top 5 picks [blogs with fewer than 200 followers] and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
3. Copy and paste the award on your blog.
4.  Have faith that your followers will spread the love to other bloggers.
5. And most of all – have bloggity-blog fun!
So here are my picks. (As I said – time constraints – so I’m just listing the blogs, not writing blurbs for them. You’ll just have to trust me that they’re well worth visiting! :-))
***
The next award – The Versatile Blogger Award – was given to me by the lovely Ashley Prince, who has the equally wonderfully-titled blog, Byron’s Curse.
There are four simple rules for The Versatile Blogger Award:
  • Post a link to the person who gave you the award.
  • Tell your readers seven random things about yourself.
  • Award 15 newly discovered blogs.
  • Send them a note letting them know you nominated them.

Here are the seven random facts about myself:

  1. I am the world’s biggest (or saddest, I’m not sure which) Bruce Springsteen fan.
  2. I once played on a stage in a club that had previously been graced by Iggy Pop, Blondie and Patti Smith.
  3. When I was younger, I used to write and draw miniature comics and was convinced I was going to be a comic’s artist when I grew up.
  4. I love going for long beach walks.
  5. I believe – and always will – that Han shot first.
  6. I like cheese. WAY too much.
  7. I adore The West Wing (even the kinda crappy latter seasons!)
And here are my 15 blogs:
***
And the final award came from my friend, Alison Wells, who writes great stuff over at Head above Water. Alison’s award involved listing random factoids also, so I’m just going to defer to the abovementioned. She recommended two blogs in her post, so I’m going to do the same.
  1. Ashley Nixon 
  2. David Beem

And that’s it! I’m sorry if I left anyone out. There are so many great blogs out there and only so many I could mention. Perhaps if some of the above bloggers take up the challenge, they can mention anyone I missed!

 

If you enjoyed this post and would like to subscribe to this blog, you can do so by entering your email in the subscription box on the left hand side. Thanks!

This entry was posted in Writing.

19 comments on “Blog Award Time

  1. nettiewriter says:

    Interesting facts, Derek. Many thanks for the Versatile Blogger award- I have received it beforeso I’ll not do a new post, but I do appreciate you thinking of me.
    Nxxx

  2. Derek Flynn says:

    You’re welcome, Nettie. As I said, don’t want anyone to feel they have to, just wanted to spread the love 🙂

  3. Jane Travers says:

    Aw, thanks Del-boy! Am well chuffed 🙂

  4. Thanks for including me with this fantastic group of bloggers. Made my day!

  5. I love cheese, and I love awards! I also love your music, photos, and insights. I awoke to this post in my email inbox and immediately after, I received this award from someone else, too. 3 times in one week–I’m humbled and inspired to keep sharing my journey.

    Thank you so much for adding to my daily joy with your music and words. I can’t wait to mention you in my next post. You’re phenomenal, and indeed, versatile. Congrats!

  6. Casey says:

    Congrats on your awards! 🙂 I’m a new follower now.

  7. junyingkirk says:

    Derek, thank you so much and hope to reciprocate the honour one day 🙂 Great to be included with other wonderful bloggers.

  8. David Beem says:

    Hey thanks for the award Derek! This is such a great idea; now I’ve got a great list of blogs compiled in one place to go check out!

  9. David Beem says:

    Oh yeah. Han did shoot first, and Vader totally doesn’t scream “nooooooooooooooooo” like a little school girl. Have you seen this:

    (Hitler gets his Star Wars ruined.)

  10. Catie Rhodes says:

    Thanks for the award, Derek. Very nice of you to think of me. 😀

  11. Krystal Wade says:

    So, it’s taken me forever to come over here and thank you, but you forgive me, right? 🙂 Thank you, Derek, for thinking of me.

  12. Ashley Nixon says:

    Oh my! Thank you, Derek! I read this days ago, and I had it in my head that I posted, but I was at school so I guess I forgot! Thank you so much! I’ll post it on Wednesday! 😀

  13. Derek, you ledge! Thanks a mill. I was thinking of having the same sort of post on my blog but the auld pc is kinda brokes, so when it is up and running I will post it and tweet you.

    Onwards
    Michelle

  14. LyfesLyfe says:

    I’m gonna have to do this with my blog because I’ve got so many posts now… thanks Derek!

  15. […] while back linking to my favourite blogs, so I’m not going to mention them all here again (click here if you’re interested). But the blogs that I read all give me something different: memories of a […]

Leave a Reply

