Writing.ie

I have a post up on http://www.writing.ie today. In the ‘Writing and Me’ section, I explore the similarities and differences between songwriting and prose writing. And answer the age-old question, “Where do you get your ideas from?”: http://writing.ie/meet-the-authors/tell-your-own-story/writing-a-me/282-writing-and-me-derek-flynn.html

This entry was posted in Writing.

3 comments on “Writing.ie

  1. That’s great that you are on their web site Derek! Am hopping over to read it now.

  2. Krystal Wade says:

    Just read your post and something struck at me: “So, while there are differences, there are similarities as well, which I don’t think my writer friends realise. How many writers have started a story with an image or a phrase or an idea generated by something they saw on the TV or the news?”

    The idea for the book I finished in May came to me via an image. I’ve had the character for a long time, but her story I could never “find”. All I had was this image of a girl in the forest.

    Interesting to think songs are written that way as well. Great post. 😉

  3. Gosh, I wish I knew where my ideas came from. When I’m trying to think of something, nothing. When I have ten things I’m already trying to remember? WHAM. Those things you can count on in life? Death, taxes, and incorrigible plot bunnies.

Leave a Reply

