Welcome!

Hi and welcome to ‘Rant, with Occasional Music’ (Nod to Jonathan Lethem’s debut novel)

I’m a writer and musician, so this blog is going to be a lot of posts about writing with … occasional music. With regard to the writing, there are plenty of great blogs out there that deal with the how-to of writing (many of which I hope to link to here). This site is going to be a little different, a bit more ‘philosophical’. Posts on the nature of writing, writer’s attitudes towards writing, etc. Less ‘how-to-write’, more ‘why-do-we-write?’. I’ll still be linking to any good articles or publishing opportunities that I see, but I’d also like to get a discussion going. So, feel free to add in your thoughts in the comments section and pass on this link to any writers (or musicians) who might be interested.

Speaking of links, any writers out there who are looking for writing advice, advice on getting published, or just about anything to do with writing, head over to www.writing.ie, where you’ll find a wealth of resources.

So, to get things started, here’s a piece of original music called ‘Do You Dream At All?’. This song was written by me and features me on guitar and vocals. Enjoy!

(*This is a sample track. The full version is available on the album “Do You Dream At All?” which can be purchased here:)

 

This entry was posted in Writing.

26 comments on “Welcome!

  1. Louise says:

    Hi Derek

    Great piece of music and vocals fab. Looking forward to more posts . Will add you to my blogroll now!!! Good luck!

  2. Krystal says:

    Derek!!! It was worth the wait. I will no longer call you a slacker. Now when will I hear more? I need to find a way to get that song on my ipod…could be helpful in my writing. 😉

  3. Maire says:

    Hi Derek, great song and congrats on the blog! Look forward to reading further posts : )

  4. Pixieguts says:

    Hi from a new Twitter follower Derek. I like your writing vibe and music. Waves from Oz!

  5. Catie Rhodes says:

    I subscribed through wordpress. I can’t wait to see what you do here.

  6. I love the start you’ve made – let me know if you’d like to do some collaborative gigs with my fella who is a solo singer/songwriter (and briliant) – I don’t know how to get music up on the web so I may be picking your brains re that if you don’t mind – then you can hear some stuff!

  7. Hi Derek – great look to your blog! Well done mate. Where do you primarily gig? I’ll be a frequent commenter and visitor here and its great you’re posting your music on here too. I really dig that track. I hope you post more.

  8. Finally here Derek….. after discovering my laptop has a key to turn off wifi! 2 wifi-less days later I discover it!

    Anyway – love the blog. Congratulations! Good luck to you and all who visit. I will deffo be one! Will add you to my blog rolll too!!

    barbara

  9. Wow, nice combination, writing and music. I really liked the song. I’ll keep coming back – also connected via twitter – intrigued to find out what you’re up to.

  10. Kate Bowyer says:

    Thanks for sharing your new music Derek-was great to hear. When will you be putting up more? 🙂

  11. junyingkirk says:

    Great music, lyrics & vocals! Really enjoyed that. Thanks for sharing, Derek.

  12. Great blog and equally great music. Love to hear artists who are brave enough to do their own music and not just covers. You have a great voice! More of your music required, soon please.

  13. matt says:

    Thanks for sending me a message on Twitter – like your music, keep up the good work! I’ll be having a good look at the writing side of things too.

    I’m trying to connect with musicians and have a new blog here: http://plymouthmusicians.blogspot.com

    Also have a useful music pearltrees too: http://bit.ly/mSYhuL

    Cheers – Matt

  14. matt says:

    Oh yes and did you use huffduffer to embed the music on here, if so how did you do that as I can’t find the embed code from huffduffer? http://huffduffer.com/

    cheers – Matt

Leave a Reply

