New Music Monday – My Version of Neil Young’s “Like A Hurricane”

64. neilyoung

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! This week, it’s my version of Neil Young’s “Like A Hurricane”:


If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

Like A Hurricane

Once I thought I saw you in a crowded, hazy bar,
Dancing on the light from star to star
Far across the moon beams, I know that’s who you are.
I saw your brown eyes turning once to fire.

You are like a hurricane: there’s calm in your eye.
And I’m getting blown away.
There’s somewhere safer where the feelings stay.
I wanna love you but I’m getting blown away.

I am just a dreamer, but you are just a dream,
And you could have been anyone to me
Before that moment you touched my lips,
That perfect feeling when time just slips
Away between us and our foggy trips

You are like a hurricane: there’s calm in your eye.
And I’m getting blown away.
There’s somewhere safer where the feelings stay.
I wanna love you but I’m getting blown away.

Once I thought I saw you in a crowded, hazy bar,
Dancing on the light from star to star
Far across the moon beams, I know that’s who you are.
I saw your brown eyes turning once to fire.

You are like a hurricane: there’s calm in your eye.
And I’m getting blown away.
There’s somewhere safer where the feelings stay.
I wanna love you but I’m getting blown away.

Written by Neil Young

(Image: Click the pic for credits)

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

Blog Link

12 comments on “New Music Monday – My Version of Neil Young’s “Like A Hurricane”

  1. Great version, Derek! Really enjoyed it.

    Geraldine

  2. Have you done Neil’s

    Don’t let it get you down,
    it’s only castles burning,
    just find someone who’s turning
    and you will come around…

    Your voice handles his stuff pretty well. :)

  3. Hi Derek, a great version of a great song, thank you. I bought the album when it came out back in ’77 and was immediately gobsmacked by the refrain, “you are like a hurricane/there’s calm in your eyes” It was for me one of those ‘that’s perfect line/image’ moments.
    S. K. Epperson has a great point, either you are developing even further OR Neil Young’s work really suits you OR both. Either way I also vote for you giving us more of your interpretations of N. Young. Roll on next Monday!!!

  4. amyeyrie says:

    Hell yeah! Hey, I like that picture of you :)

  5. Arlee Bird says:

    One of my favorites by Young. Your version is nicely done. That song takes me back.

Leave a Reply

