The Next Big Thing!

The Next Big Thing is a blog chain in which participating authors answer ten questions about their current work in progress or upcoming publications. I was tagged for this post by Susan Furlong Bolliger who talks about her cozy mystery novel, Murder For Bid, here. You can also find out more about Susan at http://www.sfurlongbolliger.com/

Because I like to be difficult, I decided to do this post a little differently and answer the questions on my album rather than my latest book.

What is your title of your album?
The title of the album is “Do You Dream At All”.

Where did the idea come from for the album?
I’ve been posting songs – both my own songs and cover versions – on my blog for the past year and a half, on what I call “New Music Monday”. All of these songs are recorded by me in my home studio. I found that more and more people were asking me if I had an album and where they could get it. As the production values on my home recordings continued to improve, I realised I could produce my own album in my home studio. So that’s what I set about doing.

What genre does your album fall under?
Hard to say exactly what genre of music the album is. Generally, it’s alternative rock, but there’s a diverse range of songs styles on the album, from acoustic songs to heavy guitar-driven songs.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Ideally, I could see Johnny Depp or Brad Pitt playing me in the rock biopic. In reality, it would probably be Carrot Top!

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your album?
Hard edged guitar tunes mixed with acoustic numbers, featuring strong melodies and intense lyrics.

Will your album be self-published or represented by an agency?
My album is entirely self-recorded and self-released. All the publicity is being undertaken on social media (Facebook, Twitter, etc.) However, the album is available from all music outlets, such as, iTunes, Amazon, etc.

And right now the album is on sale for the bargain price of $5 on www.cdbaby.com

How long did it take you to record the album?
The recording and mixing of the album took approximately two months, including the design and production of the CD booklet.

What other bands would you compare this album to within your genre?
That’s very hard to say. I will say my influences range from Nirvana to The Smiths, from Bruce Springsteen to The Shins, so take from that what you will!

Who or what inspired you to write this album?
The inspiration behind the recording of the album was the interest shown in the music I posted to my blog. As for the individual songs, as with my novel writing, the subject matter of the songs is not inspired by one specific incident. The songs deal mostly with relationships between people (often troubled relationships), whether they be romantic relationships or otherwise.

What else about your album might pique the listener’s interest?
In this age of corporate control and the homogenisation of music, I think it’s important that there are artists out there making their own type of music, independent of fads. I hope that is what “Do You Dream At All” is and I hope people will support it.

 

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing!

Leave a comment