New Music Monday: My version of Warren Zevon’s “Carmelita”

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! And we’re back in obscure song mode. But, boy, is it a good one. This song was written by Warren Zevon who did his own brilliant version and was covered by Linda Ronstadt who also did a fabulous version. And this is my version of Warren Zevon’s “Carmelita”:

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

Carmelita

I hear Mariachi static on my radio
And the tubes they glow in the dark
And I’m there with her in Ensenada
And I’m here in Echo Park

Carmelita hold me tighter
I think I’m sinking down
And I’m all strung out on heroin
On the outskirts of town

Well, I’m sittin’ here playing solitaire
With my pearl-handled deck
The county won’t give me no more methadone
And they cut off your welfare check

Carmelita hold me tighter
I think I’m sinking down
And I’m all strung out on heroin
On the outskirts of town

Well, I pawned my Smith Corona
And I went to meet my man
He hangs out down on Alvarado Street
By the Pioneer chicken stand

Carmelita hold me tighter
I think I’m sinking down
And I’m all strung out on heroin
On the outskirts of town

Words and music by Warren Zevon

 

(Image: Click on pic for credits)

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

One comment on “New Music Monday: My version of Warren Zevon’s “Carmelita”

  1. amyeyrie says:

    Cool! Nice vocals from Ruth. Reminds me of this place in LA called Mariachi Plaza where full bands wait for spontaneous gigs: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mariachi_Plaza Here is Jack White there: http://www.bamfas.com/2012/08/review-jack-white-and-the-peacocks-at-mariachi-plaza-2012/

Leave a Reply

