New Music Monday – My version of “Something’s Gotten Hold of my Heart”

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! Today’s song is a 60s classic by Gene Pitney, which he also recorded as a duet with Marc Almond in the 80’s. This is my version of “Something’s Gotten Hold of my Heart”:


If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

Something’s Gotten Hold of my Heart

Something’s gotten hold of my heart
Keeping my soul and my senses apart
Something’s gotten into my life
Cutting it’s way through my dreams like a knife
Turning me up, and turning me down
Making me smile, and making me frown

In a world that was war
I once lived in a time that was peace and no troubles at all
But then you came my way
And a feeling of unknown shook my heart,
made me want you to stay
All of my nights, and all of my days

Something’s gotten hold of my hand
Dragging my soul to a beautiful land
Yeah, something has invaded my night
Painting my sleep with a colour so bright
Changing the grey, and changing the blue
Scarlet for me, and scarlet for you

I got to know if this is the real thing
I got to know it’s making my heart sing
You smile and I am lost for a lifetime
Each minute spent with you is the right time
Every hour, every day
You touch me and my mind goes astray, yeah
Baby, baby

Something’s gotten hold of my hand
Dragging my soul to a beautiful land
Something has invaded my night
Painting my sleep with a colour so bright
Changing the grey, and changing the blue
Scarlet for me, and scarlet for you

In a world that was war
I once lived in a time that was peace and no troubles at all
But then you came my way
And a feeling of unknown shook my heart,
made me want you to stay
All of my nights, and all of my days

Something’s gotten hold of my hand
Dragging my soul to a beautiful land
Yeah, something has invaded my night
Painting my sleep with a colour so bright
Changing the grey, and changing the blue
Scarlet for me, and scarlet for you

Words & music by Greenway/Cook

 

(Image: Click the pic for credits)

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

4 comments on “New Music Monday – My version of “Something’s Gotten Hold of my Heart”

  1. Very nice, Derek. I flipped from top forty to heavy metal in the early 1980′s; however, I have a good appreciation for most types of music, and am always on the lookout for something new. So it was that I went digging through my mother’s record collection back in the day and found Gene Pitney’s “Looking Through the Eyes of Love” record. I played the heck out of that album, and have since replaced it with cd. I love Pitney and was saddened with his passing. Anybody with a voice like that and a pal of the Rolling Stones has got to be cool!
    Thanks for sharing. Well done!

    -Jimmy

  2. Cliona says:

    First time I heard that song was the Marc Almond version, then was a band called Auto Da Fe (Gay Woods) and liked it even more. Great song and you’ve done Gene proud! :-)

  3. amyeyrie says:

    I love Gene Pitney! Great choice :)

Leave a Reply

