#FridayFlashFiction “The Unbearable Weightlessness of Being”

They hate me up here … I know that.

She’s the only woman on board and we’re fucking … of course, they hate me. They pretend it’s because of our lack of professionalism, but I know it’s jealousy. We tried to be discreet at first, but you try keeping secrets from three other people in a floating tin can.

It’s completely against the rules, and I’m sure Houston knows by now. But what are they going to do – send another Space Shuttle to bring us back? We’ll be dealt with when we get home and we’ll take our licks. It will have been worth it. It’s only been a week and it’s already been worth every minute.

All the times I trained in weightlessness, I never once thought about sex. She’s the one who initiated it. She said she’d tried it out in the anti-grav chamber back in Moscow. She couldn’t wait for her first mission to try it out for real. I guess I’m lucky she chose me.

I’ve been wondering: are we the first ones to ever do this? There’s only been a few other women up here. So, unless all those guys in the Apollo rockets were getting funky with each other …

Last night, hanging upside-down in zero gravity, I whispered into her ear, “Do you realise we could be only two people in history who have ever done this?” She didn’t answer, just let out a dirty, Russian laugh and shoved my head back between her weightless breasts.

 

Image taken from “Them” music video by Jem

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

6 comments on “#FridayFlashFiction “The Unbearable Weightlessness of Being”

  1. Jules says:

    That’s rather taken my mind off the system upgrade I’m supposed to be concentrating on. So few words, so quick to read – but what a lasting impact. I’ll be floating around all afternoon!

  2. Kelly Gamble says:

    I always wanted to be an astronaut when I was a kid. I should have stuck that one out!

  3. khajj says:

    Beam me up Scotty! *grin* Loved it!

  4. irishminx says:

    Brilliant Derek and I laughed…. :)

  5. amyeyrie says:

    Ha, ha! You probably need a special suit!

  6. Jack Durish says:

    Actually, I have thought about it – the technical aspects, that is. Generally, the lack of gravity would force two bodies to separate with every “thrust.” (Remember, for every action there’s an equal and opposite reaction.) Ultimately, I decided on a wide elastic band to hold the two bodies together at the hips and one person tethered in place. (I think I’ll call the book “007age in Space”)

Leave a Reply

