The First Anniversary Post!

Today is the one year anniversary of this blog! Although it’s a cliché, it really doesn’t seem like a year. In one sense, it’s flown by but, in another – given all that’s happened in that time – it seems a lot longer! I started this blog a year ago with no intention of releasing an album and only a vague notion of where the blog was headed. I wanted to talk about writing and post some of my songs. Now – 152 posts and 45 songs later – my debut album is on release and my writing has been published in an anthology. And that’s all due to the wonderful readers of this blog and the people on Twitter and Facebook who have supported and encouraged me over the past year.

So a huge, heartfelt THANK YOU to every one of you!

And as a little celebration of the blog’s birthday, I thought I’d post the most popular post both in music and writing. When you’re writing a post or recording a song (especially a cover version) you can never gauge what’s going to be the most popular, which one is going to catch the reader’s eye or the listener’s ear. Sometimes it comes as a surprise. It’s certainly the case with the most popular music post. It’s not – as you might think – even a rock song. The most listened-to song on #NewMusicMonday in the past year was the anti-war ballad “And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda”:

As regards the post, it was actually a mixture of music and writing and it got a staggering 5,200 views! The most popular post was When Lou (Reed) Met Edgar (Allan Poe) – Music Meets Literature

Once again, thanks to everyone for reading and here’s to another year of music and writing that will hopefully keep you entertained!

 

(Image: Click the pic for credits)

25 comments on “The First Anniversary Post!

  1. Very Happy Blogiversary, Derek, here’s to many more x

  2. I love the blog birthday idea. Your blog is always enjoyable D! Keep up the awesome work.

  3. Happy blog anniversary Derek great reading and enjoy your work

  4. Happy blog birthday! Found you through a twitter friend and thought it would be fun that a complete stranger congratulates you!

    I managed to miss my blog’s birthday completely, so I decided to celebrate an arbitrary number of days :D

  5. Debra Kristi says:

    Happy Anniversary! You made it through one whole year. Yay!

  6. One Year of Glory. Great Posts Derek. Keep up the good work.

  7. Paula Dennan says:

    Happy Anniversary, Derek!

    I love when your latest post arrives in my inbox because I know that whatever it’s about I’m in for a treat.

    Here’s to another brilliant year x

  8. TimGreaton says:

    Congrats, Derek. Good things come to those who work hard to create quality. Bravo!

  9. Congratulations on your anniversary, my friend. I have indeed enjoyed my visits. Thanks for the posts, the music and the friendship. Cheers, Mate! *raises glass of white zin*

    -Jimmy

  10. Jules says:

    Thank you Derek for sharing your brilliant music.
    Loved ‘Waltzing Matilda’ – it sent me on to my favourite Luke Kelly vid:

    I wonder if Luke would still have been a Protest Singer, or would old age have mellowed him?
    We’ll never know.
    Happy birthday, Blog!

  11. Jules says:

    Sorry, I expected it just to post the link!

  12. You’re voice is very much like Shane MacGowan from the Pogues.
    I like. Where’s album link?

    Happy Anniversary! A year does go very quickly, its shocking.
    Also congratulations on the book and the album.

Leave a Reply

