New Music Monday – My version of David Guetta’s “Titanium” + 4th July “Choose Your Own Song” Comp!

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! First off, I asked you to choose your favourite biggest, dumbest, anthemic American Classic Rock song for the 4th of July. Here’s the suggestions:

  1. “We’ve Got Tonight” – Bob Seger
  2. “We Built This City (On Rock and Roll) – Jefferson Starship
  3. “Born in the USA” – Bruce Springsteen
  4. “Poison” – Alice Cooper
  5. “4th of July Asbury Park” – Bruce Springsteen
  6. “Bad Moon Rising” – Creedence Clearwater Revival
  7. “Proud Mary” – Creedence Clearwater Revival
  8. “Sweet Caroline” – Neil Diamond
  9. “Boys of Summer” – Don Henley
  10. “Alone” – Heart
  11. “Dream On” – Aerosmith
  12. “More Than a Feeling” – Boston
  13. “Always” – Bon Jovi
  14. “Sweet Home Alabama” – Lynyrd Skynrd

Vote for your favourite in the comments below and I’ll record it.

Now to this week’s song. And its another one of my #SINS ! (#SongsINeverthoughti’dSing) This is my version of David Guetta’s “Titanium”:

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

Titanium

You shout it out,
But I can’t hear a word you say
I’m talking loud not saying much
I’m criticized but all your bullets ricochet
You shoot me down, but I get up

I’m bulletproof, nothing to lose
Fire away, fire away
Ricochet, you take your aim
Fire away, fire away
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium

Cut me down
But it’s you who have further to fall
Ghost town and haunted love
Raise your voice, sticks and stones may break my bones
I’m talking loud not saying much

I’m bulletproof, nothing to lose
Fire away, fire away
Ricochet, you take your aim
Fire away, fire away
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium
I am titanium
I am titanium

Stone-hard, machine gun
Firing at the ones who run
Stone-hard, those bulletproof glassYou shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium
I am titanium

Written by Sia Furler, David Guetta, Giorgio Tuinfort and Afrojack

 

(Image: Click the pic for credits)

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

13 comments on “New Music Monday – My version of David Guetta’s “Titanium” + 4th July “Choose Your Own Song” Comp!

  1. Jules says:

    Hi Derek,
    ‘Titanium’ sounds great!
    My vote goes to “We’ve Got Tonight” – Bob Seger.
    Thanks,
    Jules

  2. Cliona says:

    Enjoyed that one Derek, you can cover anything and make it sound good. :-)
    Think I’ll go with ‘Boys of Summer’. it’s one I was going to choose but didn’t feel guilty enough (you did say guilty pleasure didn’t you?!) about liking it so didn’t choose it. Always with the explaining me, eh? Ha!
    Anyway Boys of Summer it is for me. :-)

  3. Paula Dennan says:

    I never really paid much attention to the lyrics of Titanium until hearing this version. Now I’ll have them going round in my head for the rest of the day (in a good way!)

    As for choose your song, my vote goes to ‘Alone’.

  4. Great stuff, Derek – sounds like a whole new sound when stripped back. A better song, too, actually! Hate to complicate matters but my vote for the Fourth of July goes to More Than A Feeling by Boston!

  5. MoloneyKing says:

    Rock on Derek!

  6. Emma says:

    “Alone” – Heart. We rock out to this at the local 80s nights in Corks :)
    Nice singing.

  7. RJ McDonnell says:

    I enjoyed Titanium. I’m voting for Sweet Caroline because it’s one of those dumb anthems where everyone, regardless of singing prowess (or lack thereof) feels comfortable singing with pint in hand.

  8. Carol Clarke says:

    Boys of Summer -Don Henley Please. Love that song. @cagssoc

  9. The Kurly One (@mskurlykelly) says:

    Great version of Titanium Derek…Beats the original too! My 4th of July vote goes to “More than a feeling” (Phew! finally decided – tough choice!)

  10. jamhenry says:

    First of all Derek apologies for lateness of reply. I’ve been working non stop through the Eucharistic Congress and all other parts of my life were on “pause.”

    Titanium was brilliant. I think it might have been your best cover to be honest. You made it your own and you made the lyrics speak for themselves rather than having loads of synthesised manufactured noise in the background.

    For 4th July it has to be The Boss for me! Cheesey I know but what can I say…

  11. amyeyrie says:

    Great version of Titanium! I want “Boys of Summer” – Don Henley

  12. [...] kind of voice that can take on the likes of Waltzing Matilda, Martha, The Ship Song, Crazy In Love, Titanium and my personal favourite Lover, You Should’ve Come Over but Derek manages to make each one [...]

Leave a Reply

