New Music Monday – My version of Rihanna’s “We Found Love” + New “Choose Your Own Song” Comp!

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! And there’s lots going on today. First off, there’s a new “Choose Your Own Song” competition. The American holiday of the 4th of July is approaching so I’m looking for your favourite American Classic Rock song. Now, we’re not talking about Leonard Cohen or Bob Dylan here. We’re talking about the biggest, dumbest, anthemic rock song you can think of. What’s your guilty pleasure? What’s the song that – when it comes on the car radio – you turn up the volume and sing your lungs out? Leave me your suggestions in the comments below.

Now to this week’s song. Following on the heels of my version of Beyonce’s “Crazy in Love” (which … how shall we say … “surprised” a lot of people) I decided it might be fun to do a few more songs that people mightn’t expect me to cover. Hence, #SINS ! That’s #SongsINeverthoughti’dSing (okay, I may have played fast and loose with the acronym there!) So, first up is my version of Rihanna’s “We Found Love”:


If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

We Found Love

Yellow diamonds in the light
And we’re standing side by side
As your shadow crosses mine
What it takes to come alive

It’s the way I’m feeling I just can’t deny
But I’ve gotta let it go

We found love in a hopeless place
We found love in a hopeless place
We found love in a hopeless place
We found love in a hopeless place

Shine a light through an open door
Love and life I will divide
Turn away cause I need you more
Feel the heartbeat in my mind

It’s the way I’m feeling I just can’t deny
But I’ve gotta let it go

We found love in a hopeless place
We found love in a hopeless place
We found love in a hopeless place
We found love in a hopeless place

Yellow diamonds in the light
And we’re standing side by side
As your shadow crosses mine…

We found love in a hopeless place
We found love in a hopeless place
We found love in a hopeless place
We found love in a hopeless place

Written by Calvin Harris

 

(Image: Click the pic for credits)

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

19 comments on “New Music Monday – My version of Rihanna’s “We Found Love” + New “Choose Your Own Song” Comp!

  1. dizzydub1 says:

    Mmmmm it’d have to be boys of summer Derek. An absolute classic

  2. Cliona says:

    I prefer that version to the original. Nice choice! :-)

  3. Jules says:

    Derek, I prefer your version as well. As for the Classic American song, anything by Leonard Cohen or Bob Dylan would be great, but I’d love to hear you sing a Lou Reed song. I can hear you singing Perfect Day now … beautifully.

  4. “We’ve Got Tonight” by Bob Seger – and YOU!
    You have the raspies pretty good :)

  5. Arlee Bird says:

    It was a huge hit and it’s a classic that has also been classed as one of the worst–I’ve gotta go with Jefferson Starship’s “We Built This City (On Rock and Roll).

    Lee
    What do you think?
    Blogging from A to Z

  6. RJ McDonnell says:

    We Found Love sounds great, Derek. As for the classic rocker, I vote for Sweet Caroline. Even the musically challenged will jump in on that one.

  7. Emma says:

    “Born in the USA”, Bruce Springsteen for American, rock anthem.
    Your version of “We Found Love” is really relaxing.

  8. Anne-Marie says:

    Derek that my favourite cover version of yours. I really like it. Gorgeous.

    American Rock Anthems, you say? It’s gotta be ‘Poison’ by Alice Cooper!

  9. amyeyrie says:

    I love the fact you take on Beyonce and now Rihanna. You are fearless and I love hearing these songs stripped down. I can actually hear the song now.

  10. Orla says:

    Great cover Derek. I’m a fan of Rihanna’s version and I love that you have totally pared it back. Your version is really soothing.

  11. Derek Flynn says:

    Thanks everyone for the comments on the Rihanna song and your suggestions for “Choose Your Own Song”. I’ll post all the suggested songs next week and put it to a vote! :-)

  12. Tim Nelligan says:

    Hi Derek, assuming you want anthems by American rock bands, rather than rock anthems successful “in” America (like some AC/DC, Led Zep, Lizzy, U2 or Sabbath!), how about a great rock-chick tune like “Alone”, by Heart?

  13. Cliona says:

    Aerosmith – Dream On. But just read you said dumbest. :-)

  14. Dave Byrne says:

    American classic has to be More than a feeling by Boston. Or Don’t fear the reaper, I just gotta hear that cow bell !!

  15. Susan says:

    “Always” by Bon Jovi. Has to be. And don’t forget that doof-doof-do-do-do-do drumbeat thingy at the beginning.

  16. Paula Dennan says:

    I second Tim’s suggestion of Alone by Heart. It’s a classic!

  17. Season Mcneme says:

    Rihanna is actually a especially skilled human being for the reason that she can sing and dance extremely well, i genuinely adore all of her songs and albums.

Leave a Reply

