New Music Monday – My version of “Across the Borderline”

Hell yeah…it’s New Music Monday! This week’s song is one many of you may not be familiar with. Written by Jim Dickinson, John Hiatt, and Ry Cooder, it’s been covered by a number of people. My favourite version is a live bootleg I have of a Jackson Browne, Bonnie Raitt and Bruce Springsteen cover of it. It’s a very powerful song with deceptively simple but brilliant lyrics. This is my version of “Across the Borderline”:

If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

Across the Borderline

There’s a place so I’ve been told
Where the streets are paved with gold
And it’s just across the borderline
And when it’s time to take your turn
There’s a lesson you must learn
You could lose more than you’ll ever hope to find

When you reach the broken promised land
And every dream slips through your hands
Then you’ll know that it’s too late to change your mind
’cause you’ve paid the price to come so far
Just to wind up where you are
And you’re still just across the borderline

Up and down the Rio Grande
A thousand footprints in the sand
Reveal a secret no one can define
The river flows on like a breath
In between our life and death
Tell me who’s the next to cross the borderline

When you reach the broken promised land
Every dream slips through your hands
And you’ll know it’s too late to change your mind
’cause you pay the price to come so far
Just to wind up where you are
And you’re still just across the borderline
Now you’re still just across the borderline
And you’re still just across the borderline

Music & lyrics by Jim Dickinson, John Hiatt, and Ry Cooder

 

(Image: Click the pic for credits)

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

7 comments on “New Music Monday – My version of “Across the Borderline”

  1. Debra Kristi says:

    I really like this song, Derek. Beautiful.

  2. amyeyrie says:

    As a representative of America, let me say that you have nailed this song. I love your bittersweet harmonies.

  3. Cliona says:

    I really like this one, never heard it before. I’ve been listening to stuff for the last hour, songs people have shared on Facebook and you tube, then I opened this and got distracted reading an email. Forgot what I was listening to but thought I’m liking this must share on Twitter…then I realised it was you! It reminds me of some of the older Blue Rodeo stuff a little bit. Your voice sounds great, as does your OH too. Nice one. :-)

Leave a Reply

