New Music Monday – New Original Song “Are You My Life?”

Hell yeah…it’s the first New Music Monday of 2012! And as such, this week I’ve decided to post a new original song,  just recently recorded. This is “Are You My Life?”:


If you can’t play the song or are on an iPhone or Android phone, click here.

(*This is a sample track. The full version is available on the album “Do You Dream At All?” which can be purchased here:)

If you enjoyed this post, you can subscribe to the blog by entering your email address in the box on the left hand sidebar. Thanks!

17 comments on “New Music Monday – New Original Song “Are You My Life?”

  1. Susan Condon says:

    Really enjoyed that Derek – music powerful, especially towards the end . . .

  2. Okay firstly, I am no music expert, but the opening of this track really, really impressed me. I would slightly disagree with Susan, I was waiting for it to go to another level, I feel it still has part of its journey to go, but utterly wonderful.X

  3. bigalphy says:

    Great song Derek, love the piano.

  4. Krystal Wade says:

    You know I love when you and Ruth harmonize. So beautiful! The beginning of the song was powerful and captivating. The piano parts were perfect, and the message of the words important. I feel the ending lacked. When the increased pace and added instruments came in I didn’t feel they matched the lyrics, like I didn’t feel the end of the song (music and lyrics combined) exploded enough. Does that make sense? I think you have a great piece here though! :-)

  5. itchybollix says:

    nice one. ye’s talented f*****s…

  6. Love it. A very talented start to the New Year, friend. Hope the holidays were good to you and your family. :-)

  7. Amy Eyrie says:

    Great way for two talented artists to start 2012! Have a great year with many triumphs, Ruth and Derek. Thanks for sharing your art with us :)

  8. Fantastic Derek .. you and Ruth sound great together. I love your cover versions, but there’s always something special about listening to your own new music. I do agree with Krystal about the ending … I almost expected the additional instrumentation near the end would lift the song to a new level – but maybe it was intentional to leave us wanting something more! I do hope what I heard from you today is a portent of more great original music to come from you (and Ruth) during 2012. All the best to you for the year ahead.

  9. Great stuff, Derek! It’s one thing to put one’s written words out there, but to record a piece of your heart in musical form, and to put it out there for others to critique – that’s something else. It’s very brave.
    I think I agree with the consensus: loved the beginning, the lyrics and the general body; however, wasn’t sure about the ending. Perhaps another listen is in order!
    I get here as often as I can, my friend, and find that I am never disappointed in having that listen.

    -Jimmy

  10. Debra Kristi says:

    Lovely way to start my day. Thank you Derek! You guys got talent!

  11. Tania Dakka says:

    Love this tune! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Thanks Derek that was nice to listen to. You sent it on the 2nd and I’m only finished some work right this moment. I wanted to be ready to listen to it. :-)

  13. yikici says:

    That’s just beautiful! I loved how you gently increased the crescendo -I really enjoyed that, thank you for sharing it with us. :)

  14. Frank Balara says:

    Thanks for the invite and greeting on Twitter, Derek! I like the song. (I don’t know much about music lingo, so don’t laugh at my attempt to explain why…) It’s sorta mellow, but there’s kind of a feeling of tension in the repetition which compliments what the lyrics are actually saying (if that makes sense) which is cool. Thanks for letting me have a listen!

  15. Lee Rice says:

    Very enjoyable song

Leave a Reply

